Concerto Grosso (2007)

  1. Adagio
  2. Allegro
  3. Pastorale: Andantino
  4. Allegro molto

concerto-grossoConcerto Grosso was written in 2007 for the St James Consort. The ensemble was part of a 7 year project of weekly concerts to help raise funds and awareness for the restoration of the Church of St Catherine of Italy in Valletta.

The concert series saw a wide range of musicians and performers dedicate their time and talent for this worthy cause. It was during this time that many of the musicians now playing with VIBE started exploring Baroque music and music practices.

The work explores Baroque musical language in a contemporary idiom. It is scored for a concertino of two violins (one of which was originally a flute) and harpsichord, with a string orchestra. It is cast in a typical Baroque four movement structure. The work opens with a slow introduction in French overture style followed by a quick Allegro with fugal imitations. This is followed by a gentle pastoral movement, and the work ends with another fugal Allegro.

Concerto Grosso was premiered in December 2007 at the Church of St Catherine of Italy in Valletta by the St James Consort.

Leave a Reply